Scott Adams on Creativity, Artistry

“Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.” as quoted by John Moore of Brand Autopsy from Scott’s new book, Stick to Drawing Comics, Monkey Brain!

Boy, can I relate to that. Editors have to be compulsively mistake-prone in order to be good. Cameramen have to be clutsy on half of their shots in order to get an edgy follow-focus or push that really works.

2 Responses to “Scott Adams on Creativity, Artistry”

  1. A bit of a beetle rant :-) « College Cave branding blog Says:

    […] Second, your attitude toward other marketing consultants feels like smugness. Ideas, freshness, have never been a challenge for me; I’m relentlessly creative and have had to learn to bite my lip and wait a few days to suggest new ideas to clients, rather than blurt them out within the 30 seconds it often takes me to hear the problem and think of the optimal solution. Lots of college marketing consultants have got to feel the same as I do, impressed with your creativity but not necessarily your artistry. […]

  2. Humor as perpetual emotion « College Cave branding blog Says:

    […] Second, your attitude toward other marketing approaches feels like smugness. Ideas, freshness, have never been a challenge for me personally; speaking for myself along with you and your staff and many other marketers I know, there are plenty of folks who feel relentlessly creative and have no problem coming up with fresh, prescriptive ideas to suggest to clients. Those of us who choose to specialize in the college marketing arena do so, I would guess, out of a desire to focus on a demanding niche that requires a very refined and nuanced level of creative precision. As a class, college marketers from A-beedle to Ztories (my tiny company), and all the Lipman Hearnes and Stamats in between, have much more trouble getting their clients to take risks than they do finding fresh creative ideas to suggest to their clients. [Am I right on this, fellow marketers?!] So, Andy, my hunch is that lots of college marketing consultants have got to feel the same as I do, impressed with your creativity but not necessarily your artistry. […]

Leave a Reply

